Some people think that governments should only focus their spending on public services, and they claim that spending on arts is a waste of money.To what extend do you agree or disagree ?

Nowadays, many people argue that the national investment in arts is nothing but waste of money which can be utilized to fulfill the demand for public services only. Personally, I disagree with this statement because I believe that arts are equally important to allocate for.

On the one hand, I agree that public services are crucial for the existence and development of a country. Firstly, these services offer the physical well-being for citizens and enhances their standard of living in terms of health, education and transportation… For instance, community needs hospitals with all advanced diagnostic equipment like computed tomographic scan which enables to detect diseases at early stages results in fewer moralities. Secondly, spending the lion’s share of budget on public services is an effective method to ease the domestic poverty. The most important sector of the economy is the education as the educational development is one of the crucial requirements for a sustainable growth of a country in a long run. Allocating financial aid to schools definitely lessens the illiteracy rate and heighten people’s intellect, which provides them with job opportunities and helps them to improve their own finances.

On the other hand, I still believe that field of arts has a profound impact on society. While the physical well-being comes from public services, arts enhances the mental well-being for people. To begin with, art is the cultural and historical reflection of every country. The music songs, for example, whether traditional folklore or modern pop songs provide us the relaxing environment and entertainment, within preservation of our cultural inheritance. Without a fund from government, it is difficult to keep them alive and not to sink into posterity’s oblivion. Furthermore, arts creations are the best source of generating revenue income for the government. Museums, arts galleries and music concerts bring marked financial advantages from the increasing number of annual visits. These tourists in historical places and monuments also promote local handicraft and consumption resulting in providing income to the small-scale industries.

In conclusion, I do not believe that financial funding for the art creations is a total wastage. Governments should distribute equal portions of their fund to both highly demanding public-service sectors and arts owing to their own benefits.