some people think that govt. should put heavy tax on unhealthy food?

Nowadays,consumption of unhealthy food is on increase,as it is mostly preferred by the society. To curb this issue,government has taken step of levy taxes on such food products.

this essay intends to delve both sides, before coming to the conclusion.

Undoubtedly, the habits of consuming unhealthy food leads to health related problems. Food products such as burger ,pizzas and many are mostly liked by the large number of people. Moreover, a major reason for higher consumption of junk food, is that healthier food options are not affordable by everyone. To exemplify, a glass of sweeten soda is cheaper than a glass of milk. Therefore, imposing high taxes on food items is not a wise idea, instead of that government can decrease the price of healthy food such as vegetables,fruits,milk and other goods.In addition, this will choice to the people, whether to stay healthy or vise-versa.

On the other hand,the health of the public is not only the individual responsibility, as the authorities should also be responsible for it. Furthermore,health problems like heart disease, obesity are caused because of unhealthy diet . Although, as people do not spend time on exercise ,which is the main reason they are becoming couch potatoes . Likewise, imposing taxes such as fat-taxes is a wise decision, but the rich section of the society can easily afford as it will not cost them much. As,it will become a burden for the weaker part of the society those who are dependent ed on such cheaper food items for their survival.Also, the survey conducted by the university of New York, states that taste is first factor while deciding what to eat, so increasing the tax on junk food items will not ,make much differences.

In conclusion, putting high taxes on these cheaply available food is not a good option. However, their should be more healthier food option from which one can have choice in eating and that should be in reach of their pocket.