Some people think high school graduates should travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to study at university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both approaches.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people think that high school graduates should travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to study at university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both approaches.

Nowadays, people are given the opportunity to decide for themselves. Many of them seemed to question whether to focus studies or to travel or work for the mean time prior submitting selves into higher education. This has caused many to debate in which way is appropriate. The advantages and disadvantages of both issues will be analyzed in this essay.

The advantage of travel and work can greatly give the individuals the experiences that will be necessary later in schooling. Some students prefer to work for awhile so they can earn a living and at the same time prepare enough money for college fees. For example, in the Philippines, majority of the Filipinos are not well-off. With this, most of them are getting a job after their high school education to support themselves and their family. For them, to have a bird in their hand is better that two in the bush. To some extent, they forget to further their studies as they become contented and remained stagnant in the lowest position in the society. Despite of it, many people still choose to gain experiences from traveling or working for a certain time prior university education.

On the other hand, high school graduates who proceed directly to university are oftentimes the most successful in career according to research conducted in China. The reason behind it is that students can focus well without much exposure to the outside world. In contrast, individuals may find college learning difficult to understand because of the limited knowledge and experiences. Even so, some schools still advise students to enroll right after secondary education as this is more ideal.

In conclusion, travel and work ahead of university education can indeed be a great choice as this can be helpful for learning in college. However, individuals should not forget to further their education so they will have a fruitful life in the future.