Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past history can help us better understand the present. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about studying history. While some argue that learning history doesn’t bring any useful knowledge and experience for us, I still believe that acquiring knowledge about what happened in the past helps us have a better understanding about the present.

There are several reasons why people believe that history tell us nothing and it is not necessary for our life. Firstly, many skills and knowledge in the past are outdated in our contemporary society. Therefore, many people believe that comprehension of history doesn’t bring any essential ideas that we need in our life. From an educational perspective, the method used to teach this discipline at school is boring and it does not help students understand the importance and benefits of this branch of learning. As a result, a range of students still have a conventional wisdom that history is a useless branch of learning and it does not tell us anything that is useful for us.

In spite of the above arguments, I support the view that learning history helps us have a better understanding of the present. First, comprehension of what happened in the past that we have when we study this discipline provides detailed information about the origin of what we have at the present and it can do wonders for us. For instance, when we study Vietnamese history and know the adversities that our ancestors had to suffer from to protect our nation, we will understand the value of independence and this can cultivate a sense of ethnic pride and patriotism. Moreover, history also describes more about the national traditions, customs and other conventional activities which create our country’s cultural identity. Consequently, we can take pride in these cultural values.