Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past history can help us better understand the present. Please discuss the two views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that history play a crucial role apprehending the present situation. While some individuals deny the importance of history in our life, I would argue that it is extremely essential to know history in order to better comprehend what is going on around us.

On the one hand, some people think that history have a faint function for various reasons. Firstly, most people memorize dates, names and facts when they looking back to the past, which is not useful in everyday life or for the future. Secondly, each historical event has different perspectives. For this reason, it makes learning history a waste of time because events can also be interpreted in a different way which makes what we learn in history less valuable.

On the other hand, I believe that it is worth having profound insights into history in order to understand the present. The first reason is history shows patterns of behavior or events in the past and their outcome which can help us avoid repeating the mistakes in the future. Furthermore, data from the past allows humanity to look at how people and places shifted and analyze causes of change around us today. For example, if we are equipped with relevant knowledge of history, it will be more easier for us to fully understand the evolution of mankind.

In conclusion, although there are some drawback to history role in our life, it seems to me that human should have a knowledge of history in order to understand the present.