Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion

With the development of the entertainment industry, there are more and more sports games on the international level. Despite many benefits for the host country, some people believe these events lead to more negative outcomes. I will elaborate on both sides and give my opinion in this essay.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that holding a sports event has significant impacts on the economy of the host country. The fans and the public normally search for information about the destination on the internet as well as give reviews about their experience during the sports events. Eventually, the host country usually not only gets credit for holding a remarkable event but also becomes more popular than before. Moreover, after the games, the country can get the chance to be a tourist attraction, which becomes a source of money for the government. In

terms of the economy, hospitality, and tourism benefit from the influx of sports fans from all

over the world. An event such as the Olympic Games, for example, provides a kind of shop

window for the host nation to advertise its attractions for tourists. Finally, because of the development of tourist business, there are more job opportunities for local residents, which contributes to the wealth of a nation.

However, there are some negative outcomes that need further consideration. First and foremost is the government budget. Obviously, holding a global event costs a huge amount of money. if the government of the host nation provides funding for these events, then it must curb public spending on hospitals, schools and a welfare state to help the poor. Therefore, poor countries and developing countries should not try to be the host country of these events, instead, they need to spend their budget on other important sectors such as public healthcare, education, and social insurance. Another thing that should be considered is environmental pollution. There are many pictures of tons of trash at the stadiums after the games, which is likely a normal phenomenon of these events. With the rapid increase in the tourist industry, the environment will highly be in danger in the future because of irresponsible acts of the visitors.

In conclusion, being a host country for an international sports game not only becomes a source of money for the government but also strengthens the economy. However, governments should also consider their budgets as well as the environmental issues before putting huge efforts into holding these events.