Do you think it is better to send criminals to jail or let them receive education or job training?

People have different views about whether or not criminals should be punished by being put into prison. In my opinion, prison is the only answer in a few situations, but in most cases, education, vocational training, and rehabilitation are better.

Prison is the only answer in case of criminals who are a risk to the society, such as murderers since they cannot be made to mix with society. In the majority of cases, it is more disadvantageous when offenders are forced to go to jail. Offenders learn a lot about crime in traditional prisons and when they leave prison they tend to escalate their crime seriousness. In other words, prisons act as universities of crime, which prevent them from being a good citizen. Furthermore, the cost of running and managing prisons is often costly. Without prisons, the government would spend that money on other important matters such as education and healthcare which would ease some burden from the government’s shoulders.

On the other hand, I believe education and job training are the best methods that can be used to help criminals become better citizens. First, education contributes greatly to heighten people’s intellect and to form a civilized society. Therefore, they have the second chance to recognize and reflect on their guilt, which leads them to re-integrate in the community. Secondly, the most effective way to keep people out of prison once they leave is to give them jobs skills that make them marketable employees. By providing job training, the criminals would no longer have ideas of committing crimes.

In conclusion, I pen down saying that we should hate the crime and not the criminal. To fight crime we should focus on the causes of crime. Education and job training help to rehabilitate criminals. So, people who commit less serious crimes should not be sent to prison. The focus should be on reforming them.