Some people suggest that there should be restrictions on a detailed description of crimes in the newspapers and on television. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about a detailed description of crimes in mass media. In my opinion, I stand by the idea that a detailed description of crimes, especially violent crime, should be restricted.

First and foremost, It can not deny that this information influences badly to children, who lack knowledge and awareness. They are so vulnerable and immature that they cannot judge whether the activities performed in mass media are right or not. So, viewing some violent behavior in a movie or on television makes them try to reproduce that situation in real life and commit crimes. Furthermore, an excessive content of violence arouses people's aggressiveness. Consequently, they believe things can be solved by violence and utilize it as an approach to deal with conflicts in the real world.

Secondly, describing criminal too detail are similar to teaching would-be crime how to deal with in a similar case in the future. Although the original purpose of criminal describe is to help viewers have a deep-rooted understanding of the criminal underworld and teach them how to resolve problems while unfortunately being in these hazardous situations, TV programme producers are likely to go into detail as much as possible in crime reports. Some of them can go so far as to present the whole procedure for a law-offending practice. Not surprisingly, those reports turn out to be free courses from which prospective criminals can learn the sophisticated technique to carry out their brutal crimes. Those instead make a significant contribution to the rise in crime rates in the whole society.

In conclusion, media violence, including the detailed picturing of the criminal has a bad influence on society. Therefore, the government should impose constraints on detailed descriptions of offense reports so as to minimize opportunities for criminals to learn tricks and minimize the drawback of this kind of information.