Millions of dollars are spent on space research every year. SOme people argue the money should be spent on improving living standards on Earth. Do you agree or disagree?

Throughout the history of mankind, more and more money is poured into space science. While I am of the opinion that the needs of humanity should always come first, I still believe that the value of space research is worth the cost.

From my point of view, humanity is always the number one priority as well as keeping the human race alive is a necessity. Alternatively, space exploration is no more than a desire. If we put our desires before our needs, then everyone loses out on a better standard of living. As an illustration, thousands of people in Africa are starving in default of basic necessities such as food and even drinkable water. Even more, a million deaths are caused by cancer, diseases and poor healthcare quality. Money, therefore, should be spent on feeding the starving millions around the globe, helping the locals climb higher in social ladder and generally making life down here better before looking up into the heavens.

On the other hand, we cannot deny the fact that space science could bring real benefits to humanity in long-term run. We all know that life on Earth doesn’t last forever and scientist always in the quest for a new homeland suitable for the people’ resettlement in the future. Moreover, humans are also struggling with the natural resource scarcity such as rare metals and oil along with the energy shortage, which might be found outside the “Known World”. For this reason, space exploration could be the viable solution for overpopulation and natural resources crisis.

In inclusion, although the mission to improve living standard is the first priority, it is an undeniable fact that space science is the matter of vital importance.