Some people think that human history has been a journey from ignorance to knowledge. Others argue that this underestimates the achievements of ancient cultures, and overvalues our achievements. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that the ancient period is time of ignorance. However, others criticize the idea because it downgrades the value of the time and overestimate modern achievements. In my opinion, ancient cultures are as great and prosperous as the modern cultures in that they have provided solid foundation for further development.

In modern era, of course, it is undeniable fact that a number of advancement has been made in every aspect of life. First, literacy has increased. This means more people are accessible to books and cutting edge information. In Korea, for example, the literacy rate is over 95%. Thus, a majority is knowledgeable or at least accessible to information if they want. Second, science has progressed in tremendous ways. With the help of technology development and enormous studies on human bodies and medication, the average longevity now is almost 100 years. In addition, Internet makes us keep in touch with the person on the other part of the world and provide various information. Moreover, even online shopping is possible. Third, art became various. Artists combines technology into their masterpiece, like Back Nam Jun, who was a world-widely known video artist. Also, fashion changes according to the season, trend or targeted customers. Therefore, it is firmly true that a great deal of advancement has been make in modern culture and it makes up prosperous.

However, in ancient era, there were still valuable and remarkable cultures and it became precious foundation for the current developed culture. First, alphabet and symbols for words invented. Based on the nature and surrounding environment, they systematized the expressions. In the ancient Mesopotamian civilization, for example, even abstract ideas are described through written message. Thus, it was a great starting point to communicate in written from and remain the useful information for others. Second, the ancient people provided the ground for the scientific development. They had their techniques of agriculture with accumulated experiences such as preserving the crops under the ground for cooler temperature. Later, it became the origin of refrigerators. Third, different types of arts had been produced and it inspired a number of artists. From drawings on the cave wall to accessories with wonderful decorations were crafted. These influenced to artists, designers. Thus, it is very clear that the ancient culture gave great foundation for the current development.

In conclusion, given that plenty of influences to modern culture, ancient culture itself has a great value. Those who under evaluate the ancient culture as ignorant are not actually considering their contribution to the modern world. Thus, we need to appreciate the great passed down cultures and estimate its value correctly.