There are many advantages if teachers are strict. To begin with, discipline can only be
maintained if teachers are strict. For example, if students are afraid of the teacher, they will
attend classes regularly and complete their work in time. But, if the teacher is too strict,
then the students may lose interest in the subject and may not come to the teacher with
their problems.
On the other hand, a friendly teacher is like a good mentor with whom students can share
their problems. Students also take more interest in the subject. Students bloom under the
guidance of such a teacher. The disadvantage, however, is that a too friendly or partial
attitude results in diversion from studies.
In my opinion, a good teacher should be like a friend, philosopher and guide for his
students. But, from time to time, he should pull the reins so that the students do not go out
of hand. After all, he is shaping the future of the nation. There is a well known saying in
Sanskrit that ‘Acharya Devo Bhava’ which means that a teacher is like a God.
To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, it has to be decided by the teacher when to
be friendly or strict and how much degree of friendliness or strictness is required because
extremes of both approaches are detrimental for the future of a student and ultimately for
the future of a nation.