Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has had a negative effect on young people’s reading and writing skills

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinion are divided on whether usage of modern device like computers and mobile phones to communication become more popular had a potential cost on young generation those who have literacy skills or not. I am of opinion that these all rely on their purpose.

Perhaps the strongest argument is that high-tech gadgets have some detrimental effects in term of games and forming bad habit literacy. With respect to the former, most of gamer who join stimulated online games such as fighting and driving are not require reading and writing skills and all they have to do is just coordination skills. Another point need to be consideration is that thank to development of high-tech, several big company as Microsoft created good production of word office having convenient functions, which means youngsters who using these software could correct grammatical automatically. This can lead to form negative habit literacy if users make it for a long-term.

Notwithstanding aforementioned argument that not all children waste their times to play video game and for some. Accessing the internet throughout using high-tech produce positive affects. This is because those are consider to be a gateway to open an unlimited source of information. For instance, the children could read some useful book on the internet to enrich their vocabularies. Furthermore, by distance learning education, they have an opportunity to type homework directly on the computer and handout to their teacher by email. For these reasons, it could also argued that the competency in communication skills by computer is as important as handwriting.

In brief, it is indisputable fact that the developments of using either the computer or mobile phones for communication had impacted negatively on young people’s literacy skills. However, I firmly believe that it is individually based on their purpose.