Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is argued by some people that it is more beneficial to send students to single-gender schools. However, I believe that boys and girls gain more advantages from studying at co-ed schools.

On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why some suppose that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Firstly, schools can have a more suitable curriculum as they design distinctive subjects and skills according to each gender’s strong suit and interest. For instance, it is estimated that boys mostly show a great passion for science subjects including physics, mathematics and chemistry as well as playing various kinds of sports. Secondly, single-sex schools will create a more convenient environment for each gender to express themselves freely. To illustrate, I remember an unusual lesson when I was at secondary school. My young biology teacher was so uncomfortable to deliver a lecture on the human body that in the end, she determined to divide my class into two groups of genders.

On the other hand, I would argue that students benefit more from entering mixed schools. First, boys and girls can make friends with each other easily. As a result, they can learn a number of worthwhile things from their opposite-sex friends. For example, boys are often considered creative while girls tend to be more careful. Another reason is that co-educational schools help to raise the awareness of gender equality. When boys and girls study at the same schools, they are given the chance to participate in the same competitions and extracurricular activities; therefore, there will be more opportunities for girls to prove themselves.

In conclusion, although there are some benefits to sending students to single-gender schools, I personally believe that they should be taught at mixed-sex ones.