Some people think that it is fine for professional sportsmen and sportswomen to misbehave on or off the field, as long as they are playing well. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is thought by some people that professional athletes could show signs of poor manner in the public since they are doing well in their criteria and making success. In my opinion, I completely disagree with the idea as these people act as a role model and younger generation tends to follow their foot steps.

Firstly, athletes are considered to be a role model and most adolescents copy their manners and attitudes. Our children are freely allowed to follow their matches and even their daily lifestyle as parents trust them and without any supervision their children enjoy watching them. That is to say, we would expect them to cultivate sportsmanship and positive attitudes while they are free to spread aggressive attack or use unsuitable words, which means as soon as parents try to stop or correct their children they would refer them to their hero as a proof to their actions.

Another point to consider is that having sporty people, with high ranking, cursing or behaving in an unacceptable standards would undoubtedly increase bullying among peers which has been one of the main troubles as schools. However, authorities is looking for the best way to tackle the issue of bullying, we introduce another way for our children to get involved with wrong manners.

Finally, watching sport events is an activity that attracts whole family members and family has a respectful value which showing disrespectful manner would definitely interfere with it and by allowing athletes to misbehave we would actually force families to stop a social activity.

In conclusion, although athletes are valuable for each and every society, it is not wise to let them behave badly as it has negative effect on adolescents and also families would lose a treasured activity.