Children are now less active in their free time that in the past. Therefore, sports lesson must be compulsory in schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Technological advances lead us to a sedentary life style especially among children who are interested in computer games instead of doing physical activities. Some people believe that sports lesson must be added to schools curriculum in order to make students more energetic. However, I don’t agree that we should force teenagers to take part in sports class at school.

On the one hand, supporters of obligatory sports class believe that students enjoy being among peer group and it gives them motivation to take part in physical activity. In addition, there are lots of diseases related to lack of activity such as obesity, posture problems and diabetes in which put a heavy burden on governments to care and cure. Schools could provide all facilities which is needed for practicing, also they can find teenagers’ talent and help them to improve it.

However, I would argue that these benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks. Firstly, people especially young members of the society are unwilling to take part in obligatory programs and sometime they choose an activity which is not available in their school. So, the result would be totally negative. Secondly, there are students who are disabled or they have medical problems, and joining to sport class make them feel embarrass. I remember when I was at secondary school, due to an injury I have to sit and watch others and sometimes other students make fun of me. And finally, those who do not enjoy sports at all will be forced to attend.

In conclusion, although physical activity is essential for humans’ bodies, make it compulsory for teenagers could result in poor performances.