Some people think that it is good for a country’s culture to broadcast foreign films and TV show. Others, however, think it is best to produce local films and shows. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

Cinema and television are not only the mediums of entertainment, but also tools to reflect and understand different cultures. It is believed by a few individuals that showing international movies and TV programs will enrich a nation's culture, but others favour that it is better to promote regional films and shows. In my opinion, there should be an equilibrium between the propagation of locally and internationally produced feature films and shows in order to get maximum benefit from these.

On the one hand, local films and TV programs project and promote regional customs and traditions. This helps in promotion and propagation of our cultural heritage. For example, famous Indian Tv series "Ramayana", that was showcased in 1980s on national television, helped me understand about our most valued historical saga of Lord Rama in detail. Besides that, locally produced shows create various job opportunities in the regional community, that tackles the unemployment problems to some extent. However, just relying on regional programs will lead to a tubular vision among viewers, as it will provide fewer occasions to observe and understand other cultures.

On the other hand, foreign pictures and tv shows enables us to appreciate art beyond the political boundaries. With the incorporation of newer technologies like internet and satellite television, it is possible to watch international programs while sitting comfortably at home. Nowadays, with the help of international news channels, we receive a more unbiased news at the blink of our eyes. However, over-dependence on global media has a downside too, as it interferes with the promotion of regional content. As a result, the production of local films and tv shows decline significantly.

To conclude, although foreign films and shows gives us opportunity to observe artistic creations from different parts of the world, the regional movies and programs should also be promoted, as they propagate our culture and tradition across the seas.