Some people think that it is important to have a single language as an international official language Others think that it will make it difficult to identify countries and cause a loss of culture Discuss both views and give your opinion

It has been thought that having an official international language may facilitate many barriers casting a shadow over global transactions today like communicative and economic expansion between nations. As opposed by some who regard this as threat to cultural diversity which in long run leads to unified culture and loss of one’s identity. I’m of the opinion that the benefits of having a common language whether official or unofficial outweigh its drawbacks especially in time of rapid globalization. I will assert my opinion regarding the matter shortly.

The pivotal role of an international language cannot be ignored since it paves the way to many problems that the world may encounter as political, economic, and others of that like. It impedes misunderstanding that may result in breaking down the business or negotiations between the two nations. In addition, It is not only enable businessmen to communicate more efficiently but also flourish the business. Not to mention that People from different parts of the world travel all over the world with less trouble in understanding one another. They will be introduced to tourist attractions and given better outlook or perspective about the country’s culture and traditions by the locals speaking with that language. Finally, people living in a nation with multi languages will find communication much easier if they have an official international language.

On the other hand, it has been proven that language shapes the way we think meaning every language brings with it a new identity and culture. This makes the official language superior to locals’ and those who speak with it regarded upper class and educated citizens. As we have seen in Iran, Kurdish & Turkish languages, for example, are considered subordinate in compare to Farsi which is a dominant language here. The same is true for nations which have English as their official language. The sweeping trend of globalization has intensified this change, trying to make the world a unified place where people wear the same clothes, watch the same movie, speak the same language and so forth. It will also devastate tourist industry as people no longer find visiting other countries an exotic place to travel hundred miles away from their home country.

To sum up, having a universal language is advantageous. It is not only make it possible for people to have rapid access to technology and all the knowledge of the world though internet, but also communicate easily whenever they are on business trip. The disadvantages will be sunk without the slightest issue heading for cultural heritage of one’s nation if it is used for special purposes like commerce and native language for everyday language and instruction.