Some people think it is of little use to study history; others think learning history helps us prepare for our modern life. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion

There is a contention in circulation that learning history provides a little impact on contemporary days. From my personal point of view, while history learning can be assumed as unnecessary knowledge in some cases, studying history is more likely to help create opportunities for human future development.

On the one hand, in some specific cases, history can be viewed as a waste of time and inapplicable for many reasons. Firstly, history is a process of development in human society, which is a complex and rapid procedure. This eventually offers different perceptions of historical events, which makes history learning less value because it cannot be applied to any scientific researches for further development. Secondly, memorization of days, facts and names is a must in studying history although this information is rarely used in daily life. This wastes a large amount of time and energy because history is something we cannot change which is no longer relevant for today’s life.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that the considerable importance of learning historical events is undeniable. Firstly, learning history greatly helps local citizens, especially children and adults more respect their ancestor and cultivate the pride and loyalty to their countries, which offer their lives as a sacrifice to the evolutionary development of their countries. This is actually a foundation to an exponential growth of a country, where people from all walks of life can live happily and fulfil. Secondly, looking back into historical events gains insights into our mistakes so it can save a lot of time by not making these mistakes again when inventing. For example, in the Vietnam War, the Communist Party learned their mistakes from the previous wars of other revolution of other countries which help weep their enemies out in a short time.

In conclusion, while history sometimes does not give us useful information, we cannot deny the potential importance of some precious sources of history.