Some people think it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football, while other people think that taking part in individual sports is better like tennis and swimming. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Enabling people to adjust their learning pace is the primary reason being a solo sport is advantageous. While some agree, I believe contributing to the team sport is a preferable option to improve collaborative skills.

A solo sport is favourable as one could adjust their learning pace, allowing them to be flexible when making progress. More specifically, they do not have to catch up with others’ progress or wait for those who are left behind. Thus, they are only responsible for their improvement. For instance, Nurul Akmal, one of the Olympic medalists for weightlifting from Indonesia, claimed to request more practice sessions with her coach before the match due to feeling a little bit anxious about the game. The coach approved that request immediately as Nurul was the only Indonesian weightlifting representative from Indonesia. However, going solo often makes athletes feel support deprived due to very few support systems.

In contrast, being in a team while playing sports improves one’s collaborative skills as one needs to strategize and cooperate while playing. This increases their sense of empathy towards one another as they are trained to understand each other’s personalities. For example, a study suggests that friendships formed by a soccer team last for more than 20 years on average, ten years longer than those formed in a swimming team. One of the reasons is that regularly collaborating in the field creates a deep bond between members, leading to a sense of belonging to the community. That is what makes a friendship coming from soccer likely last longer.

To conclude, although being involved in an individual sport allows ones to organize their own learning pace, being in a sports team increases their collaborative skills. If possible, both approaches should be combined as one.