There are different views about how governments should allocate public money. Some people believe that taxes should be spent more on illness prevention than medical treatment. However, I disagree this opinion to some extent. It is true that government should allocate a certain percentage of public money on future health promoting, but I believe that the insistence and efforts of current illness treating are equally, even more important.

There are several reasons why it is not suggested to reduce budget of disease treatment. First, the costs of some illness treatments and medical services is very expensive. Sometimes it is too expensive to be afforded for people without the government funding. For instance, modern equipment prices for cancer treatment are very high, and it would be impossible for poor people to access these devices for treatment and to pay by themselves. Furthermore, there have been an increasing new diseases that many people are now suffering as well as some birth defects which are hard to prevent, and it would be needed to invested in medical research to develop new medicine, vaccines and medical procedures related to these diseases to save more lives and cure more people.

On the other hand, I can quite understand why some people object that government continues to invest heavily in disease treatment. The main reason for this view is that promoting healthy lifestyle could be a relatively money-saving policy. Comparing with researching and developing on medical treatments and techniques, health advocacy by education or advertising is indeed cheaper, and effect-significant. It still has limitation on medical progressing if government only focuses on health lifestyle advocacy and compresses the budget for clinical treatment research.

In conclusion, I reaffirm my opinion that taxes should be spent on providing medical treatment in a proportion though the policy of providing healthy lifestyle is low cost by comparison.