Some people think that it is necessary to travel abroad to learn about other countries, while other people think that it is not necessary to travel abroad because all the information can be seen on TV and the Internet. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is irrefutable that nowadays, because of technology, arm-chair tourism through which we can see all the information on television and the internet, has gained popularity. However, I disagree, that travelling abroad will no longer be needed. In fact, I believe that the popularity of foreign travel will grow even further due to publicity these places get because of TV and the internet.

First of all, computers can never replace real places. No matter how real and vivid computer images are, they are only images and can never be likened to the historical objects and natural wonders that we see in real or even might be allowed to touch with our fingertips. The difference can be compared to seeing the picture of a mango rather than actually eating it.

Secondly, visiting other countries is a rewarding experience in many respects. For one thing, it is a good exercise. When we make the trip to a foreign country then we visit the places of interest there, we get some exercise which does a lot of good to our health. We generally go with family and friends and enjoy a lot. We also learn about the culture and tradition of the place. All this broadens our horizons which can never be done by the passive activity of seeing something on the computer screen. At the same time we also get a chance to spread the good points of our own culture also.

Finally, I believe that after seeing these countries on TV or the internet, our craving to actually see these increases even more and so we make efforts to go and see these places. This can be proved by the overwhelming number of tourists to these places that has been increasing year after year. At certain times, especially when it is temporarily impossible for us to visit other countries in person, we can get a rough picture of what those countries are like. However, what we see from a computer screen is, after all, not exactly the same as what we see and feel with our own eyes on site.

In conclusion, arm-chair tourism is there today but international travel will still be needed.