Some people think that it is necessary to travel to and live in another country to effectively learn their culture and language. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

People believe that one of a few effective ways to study a foreign culture and language is to experience the life in that specific country. In my opinion, while living in another nation has its some merits, the advantages of this tendency do not bring a huge favor to the people who seek knowledge.

On the one hand, there is a certain advantage of living abroad for language learners. By actually spending time in another country, individuals have the opportunities to interact with the locals to learn about their culture and practice their language skills. Because people have the chance to practice their second official language every day, they will quickly get familiar with how the native speakers use their own mother tongue. Thus, individuals eventually develop their language skills in a small amount of time without even a slight notice of their improvement. For example, several exchange students from Vietnam who spent about three months studying in Australia can speak English quite fluently after they return to their mainland.

On the other hand, a few downsides need to be considered. Firstly, many people do not have enough financial resource to support their study from overseas. Therefore, traveling to another nation is not an ideal option that is suitable for every single person. In fact, only a minority of wealthy family are able to support their member to choose this type of language studying. Secondly, people are exposed to adapt bad habits or lifestyles from the locals when they live overseas because they cannot filter everything they observe and imitate. As a result, instead of exploring a new culture and strengthen language skills, they return home bringing unsuitable lifestyles, which damages their original culture.

In conclusion, while it is great to travel for studying new language and culture, I believe that advantages of this tendency do not outweigh the disadvantages.