Computers and modems have made it possible for office workers to do much of their work from home instead of working in offices every day. Working from home should be encouraged, as it is good for workers and employers. What’s your opinion and discuss the advantage and disadvantage?

A decade ago, office workers had to go to the workplaces every day for their jobs. However, that is not the case in the recent years with the help of technology. Thus, many people think that working at home using a computer is way more beneficial. In my opinion, while not having to leave home for work is convenient, I believe that going to workplaces is still important for a few reasons.

To begin with, the advantages of working at home with a computer is quite obvious. Since the job of most office workers is related to paperwork which is mostly digitalized nowadays, it is redundant to use another computer to finish their task at their workplace. Instead, they can just sit on their favorite couch at home to do the work and send back the final digital documents via email. The familiar environment at home gives people absolute peace and relaxation when doing their jobs. Indeed, research shows that 60 percent of people are more productive and satisfied when they are allowed to work at home. In addition, being allowed to work at home is highly encouraged for individuals who engage in software developing because they need to concentrate on their coding without any interruption from the others.

However, there are several drawbacks of this method. Firstly, staying and working at home every day may lead to laziness. This happens because of the bad habit created by repeating the same routine day after day. In the long term, it will result in problems related to many aspects from physical health to social experience. Secondly, clients could not be fully supported at the company’s office when the staffs are choosing to work at home. There are some situations where online support cannot satisfy the customers. Consequently, the employers of companies may receive negative feedbacks which could possibly damage their credits and reliability.

In my opinion, while technology gives employees a convenient option to work at home, it is still necessary to show up at the office several days a week.