Some people think it is one of the best ways to solve environmental problems by increasing the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is asserted that environmental issues could be addressed once the price of petrol rises. Personally, I completely disagree with this ostensible notion for the fact that car fuel is merely one of the various factors that heavily impact the environment and there will be continuing demand for that source of energy from people.

For one thing, the rapid pace of industrialization negatively affects the environment in many aspects. Admittedly, vehicle’s gas emissions contribute largely to it, however, industrial plants also release tons of noxious fumes into the atmosphere daily. Factories do not function based on petrol but act as an existential threat to the ozone layer. In the meantime, increasing petrol cost generally surmount a minor aspect among the numerous, and importantly, it will take a heavy toll on people’s lives. This is indisputably not a feasible solution, compared to the overall situation as it benefits a select one over the majority, which is ineffective and environmental degradation will perpetuate negatively.

For another, as the demand for petrol is inelastic, its consumption does not vary significantly according to the fluctuation of its price. Commuting purposes rely heavily on fuel-based vehicles and even if there is a radical change in the fuel costs, the public will continue to accept it as transportation has been an indispensable part of their lives. Additionally, since fuels represent an increasing proportion of household expenditure, many people acknowledge the importance of reducing non-essential trips before the rise of petrol price. Hybrid and fuel-efficient cars have been implemented in order to curb the fuel consumption as much as possible. Hence, it depends upon individuals’ attitudes towards the environment, rather than external factors affecting petrol costs.

To conclude, the option to increase petrol price is not a viable solution to address environmental problems. Attention must be drawn on raising public awareness about the poor state of the environment to surmount the issues in the long run.