Some people think it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and poems. To what extend do you agree and disagree?

According to the statement, some masses believe that, for high school students, it is a wastage of time to study those subjects which are related to literature such as novels and poems and so on. I completely disagree with the statement and reasons behind this are explained in the upcoming paragraphs.

To begin with, there is no waste of time to study literature subjects for high school students because there are plethora of benefits which they gain from these subjects. First of all, if students read novels and poems, then they find numerous unique words which are the synonymous of other common words which they read and find on their daily basis. Due to this, the power of vocabulary of students will boost which would show a great advantage in their English learning skills. They can gain extra knowledge and information about uncommon words.

In addition, if students study literature related books, then this will also boost their reading power in a great manner. Because, if students read these books, then their way of pronunciation also edify, as they pronounce words in a right way. Moreover, this gives a benefit in their speaking also, as if they speak in English, their fluency would edify and it is easy for them to speak in English. Apart from this, it will also boost the confidence of the students because if students read novels or poems, their English learning and speaking skill improve and also boost in a big manner. Therefore, Indirectly, this improve their confidence and linguistic level.

To conclude, according to my view point, study of literature such as novels and poems and so on, is not a wastage of time because this helps the students with numerous benefits such boosting vocabulary and English learning skills and so on.