Some people think a job not only provides income but also social life. Others think it is better to develop social life with people you do not work with. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, making friends with colleagues has become a controversial topic. Some believe that, apart from income, jobs also provide employees with a good social life. however, others are in favour of the opposition to this concept. Therefore, in this essay, I will discuss both views and give my own thoughts.

individuals who support the idea of socializing at work highlight that keeping

a close relationship with co-workers could have a motivating bearing on employees. they are convinced that when their work life hits a rough patch, they could, for instance, share their feelings with their co-workers, as well as their managers. this also helps them reduce stress and anxiety, and thus return to work with a refreshed mood, as well as being more committed to the company. Furthermore, the working environment is one of the most primary job satisfaction elements, as well as being the necessary factor to enhance work productivity. To illustrate, it would be definitely uncomfortable when working in an oppressive atmosphere where employees do not have any social connection with each other. Otherwise, it is likely that the staff will work effectively if they socialize with their colleagues.

On the other hand, the opponents argue that when workplace friendships go awry, it could have unwanted outcomes, especially the reduction of time for work. To demonstrate, the staff members could hardly ever pay attention to their work 100 percent when they spend an excessive amount of working time talking with their co-workers. In addition, once individuals reveal a huge amount of personal information, it might create jealousy and resentment in their workplace friends, and then cliques might be formed leading to favouritism, exclusivity and negativity.

In conclusion, it appears to me that workplace friendship should be established for the sake of enjoyment and comfort. however, individuals should distinguish between workplace relationships and other friendships in order to avoid divulging intimate information, as well as making their other employees feel envy of their personal life.