Some people think a job not only provides income but also social life. Others think it is better to develop social life with people you do not work with. Discuss both views and give your opinion

People having differing views with regard to the topic of social life in work environment. Some people hold the opinion that there are many advantages to being sociable outside of workplaces, whereas others consider that it is better to socialize with co-workers. This essay will discuss both points of view and give the writer’s opinion that social interaction with colleagues should be promoted.

Although it is not my opinion, many people suggest that they prefer to get together with someone who they do not work with because of some reasons. To begin, one of the main reasons is that these people want to keep professionalism in their works. They are afraid that their work-related decisions could be influenced if they have a close relationship with their colleagues. A particular example is when they have to fire a staff who is their close friends, and this could be an extremely difficult task which they might not be able to complete. In addition to professionalism, gaining more opportunities in both life and work could be another explanation. When people socialize with friends working in different areas, they could have information and connections which could be a fundamental factor for their future success. This could be true to business people because their career development possibly increases together with the size of their social network. Hence, people should have social life outside their office.

Despite above considerations, I do not believe that this opinion stands up to scrutiny, and would agree with people having an advocate on socializing with colleagues. Firstly and most importantly, job satisfaction could be achieved. When people have social interactions with their co-workers, they could build up strong connections which are vitally important to teamwork performance. As a result of these connections, workers could accomplish difficult jobs, and in turn receive promotions and other benefits. Worldwide companies such as Google or Facebook understand this crucial point, and they have promoted team building programmes and requested all of their staffs to join company events. Not only do people expect job satisfactions, but they also want to search for long-term relationships. In Vietnam where people devote their entire life to work in one company, they have a tendency to turn colleagueship into a permanently close relationship. It is considered a perfectly wise choice because co-workers are the one they spend most of their time with after getting retired. Thus, people should enjoy having time with workmates outside workplaces.

To sum up, although some people recommend socializing outside of the office, I would argue that there is sufficient evidence to demonstrate that this is not the case. Having social life with workmates brings about job satisfactions and long-term relationships.