Some people think a job not only provides income but also social life. Others think it is better to develop social life with people you do not work with. Discuss both view.

Nowadays most of us are employed unlike in the olden days where the male member of the family goes for work. In those days the wife is expected to stay at home and take care of kids. Today, everyone can have a work and personal life without the biases created by gender. Some of us think that it is important to work to have a social life while others opine that it is better not to be social with workmates. In the below essay, I will discuss both views and express my opinion.

Today, as work keeps everyone busy and there is the pressure of targets, most of us stay back at work after the regular business hours. When we get back home it is too late to catch up with friends and family. Hence, it is important that we have a social group at work with whom we can have fun and share our personal views with. Friendship and social life at work can strengthen the dynamics of a team.

There can be instances when social life can affect work. For example, team members engaging in gossip and other unprofessional activities can have a negative affect on the office environment. Also, there is a chance for distraction from work.

Looking at the above essay, I conclude that there should be a balance in the social element in work life. It should not be all fun and less work. I think this totally depends on the management style and the professional ethics of the employees in the organisation though.