Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy. Which opinion do you agree with? Discuss both the views and give your view.

Opinions differ as to whether family pets will have positive influences on children or they are just a potential threat to kids. I believe adopting pets is beneficial for the young.

It is understandable why people say that pets pose harmful threats to infants in the family. One reason is that these animals could be a source of infectious diseases that affect the children’s physical health. Although most nowadays pets are vaccinated before coming into the family, there would always be a potential which pets carry undiscovered bacteria or viruses while wandering around the neighborhood back to their houses. As a consequence, it is highly likely that kids will be infected victims of diseases since they have more interaction with family animals than the adults. Another reason is the potential that pets would attack human, which is the children in this case. People cannot deny the fact that these friendly pets are tamed animals, which means they still possess some wild instincts to unintentionally hurt the children while playing.

However, I would side with those who think that having a pet at home would affect positively on the young. One reason to support my standpoint is that kids will have a loyal friend to have fun with when they are at home. At young ages, most children do not have the skill to socialize at schools resulting in kids’ lack of happiness. This is when pets become a helpful option to keep children accompanied after boring hours at school. Furthermore, it is also an opportunity for infants to study about animals. Parents could take the advantage to teach kids some biological knowledge of dogs and cats.

In conclusion, I believe that adopting family pets will benefit the young when they are at home. After all, pets are not just animals but trust-worthy friends to kids even when they grow older.