Some people think the manufacturers or shopping malls should sell less packaged products and others argue that people have the responsibility to buy products with less packaging. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is a matter of debate whether the manufacturers should reduce the amount of packaged products or customers are responsible for buying products with less packaging. In my opinion, the former is a viable solution to the problems that buyers are facing, instead of the latter.

On the one hand, individuals believing stores or companies should lessen the packaging of products is due to their concern of environmental protection. Discarded packaging from users is known to be one of the main culprits that contributes significantly to the worsening quality of the environment. Thus, many people think that shopping malls should provide customers with fewer packaged goods in order to minimize the amount of thrown-away packaging on the streets or to the oceans. Moreover, people assume that some packaging might hinder buyers’ convenience as it is multi-layered or too bulky, which might waste customers’ time and efforts on unboxing. If a buyer sees a product with heavy packaging, they might feel reluctant to carry it home due to the weight.

On the other hand, others assume that people are responsible for buying purchasers less packaged products because they trust that need to be conscious of their own purchasing preferences. If people purchase items like food or clothing and store them in their own containers or bags, this might decrease the demand for packaged products. Owing to this, many manufacturers have to slowly lessen the packaging they produce, which is likely to prevent packaging trash from being littered to roads or seas.

Considering two notions, I believe that although the second belief might be a suggestion to raise awareness of customers instead of helping them the most efficiently, because there are some people unfamiliar with this approach. As when a company reduces packaging, people have to provide themselves with their own bags to carry goods. Furthermore, less packaging means an easier way to open products as it saves time and efforts.

In conclusion, although raising people’s awareness of buying things with fewer packaging is practical, I believe that manufacturers’ approaches to reduce packaging are the most beneficial to every customer.