Some people think that men and women have different qualities. Therefore, some certain jobs are suitable for men and some jobs are suitable for women. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that men and women are born with biological differences which determine which jobs suit them. While there are a variety of grounds supporting this view in the past, I disagree with the idea that this is still reasonable to the world of work today.

On the one hand, it used to be thought that men and women have physical distinctions which have a certain impact on the range of jobs opening to them, and affect their choice of careers. First, when most work was performed manually, men were advised to occupy positions in physically demanding jobs such as working on construction sites or driving heavy trucks, whereas pre-school teaching or nursing was more suitable for women. This view stemmed from the general idea that women are less strong and more dexterous than men. Second, the traditional stereotype of what so-called men or women jobs also directed them to ignore jobs which are supposed to suit only their counterpart.

On the other hand, the workplace has changed dramatically, which provides men and women with equal opportunities in all careers. The equality derives from the increasingly equal educational system, which assists women in gaining qualifications to undertake perfectly so-called men jobs and vice versa. Provided that they work hard, they deserve the opportunity to reach the top in their chosen field. More importantly, the more modern outlook has broken traditional barriers which prevent men or women from doing certain jobs in the past. It is, hence, hardly surprising that a growing number of women are able to join army force with the strong support from their families or friends.

In conclusion, the effect of gender difference on choosing a job to pursue for both men and women are constantly lessened in the modern workforce.