The best way to reduce youth crime is to educate their parents with parental skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some that providing parents with necessary parental skills is the best measure to decrease young crime. While these skills could be effective to some extent, I would argue that there is a better method to tackle this issue.

On the one hand, parents play a fundamental role in shaping a child’s personality. First, good parents would act as a role model on how to conform to society and live with its inherent standards. Children who are still immature could imitate these behaviors of their parents to become law-abiding citizens. Second, with good parental skills, mothers and fathers could help their children be able to distinguish between legal and illegal actions so as to avoid turning to crime. For example, providing clear and calm instructions when children perform wrongful acts such as petty theft or bullying, parents might prevent their children from committing more serious offenses in future.

One the other hand, I would argue that the most effective measure is to apply strict law enforcement. One consideration is that as the punishments imposed on youngsters who break the law acts as a deterrent again re-offending, Judges and magistrates should apply the letter of law when juvenile criminals come before the courts. youths should serve prison sentences when they commit serious crimes, and there are other effective non-custodial sentences which could be imposed. In Vietnam, for instance, youngsters are sometimes put on probation or given a chance of reintegrating back into society through performing some community services.

In conclusion, although teaching parental skills would help to reduce youth crime, I believe that a policy of being tough on crime is the most effective method.