Some people think that mental strength is the most important factor for success in sports. However, some others believe that it is more important to have strong and fit people. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

Some people believe that mental strength is of the utmost importance to win in sports. However, some others are opposed to this idea, physical fitness is the key to success. There are valid arguments on both sides, which I will discuss now.

On the one hand, a strong mentality is essential for any sportspeople to be successful. In reality, virtually all sports entail intense competitions and pressure, so only strong-willed players who is able to handle those problems well can become a winner. For example, elite athletes such as Roger Federer, who is widely regarded as one of the greatest players of all time in tennis, is a perfect example of players in remaining calm and confident regardless of situations. With his mental prowess, he created interesting matches with fighting back from the break down to win even if he was not in good physical condition. As a result, the mental toughness of Federer has been proven to be a game-changing factor in his matches.

On the other hand, physical strength is often considered a very important element in sports. Most players are required to be physically fit so that they are able to physically challenging actions commonly found in the majority of sports. For instance, Cristiano Ronaldo, who is renowned for being one of the most athletic players in football history, trains for brute strength, muscle size and endurance day by day to have a robust body. Therefore, his extraordinary strength made rivals wary because he can run faster than any player. Eventually, Ronaldo scored easily, and now he is holding the record for most goals in his career.

In conclusion, it is ludicrous to compare mental strength with physical fitness because they are both equally important and instrumental in the overall success in sports.