Some people think that mental strength is the most important factor for success in sports. However, some others believe that it is more important to have strong and fit people. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

Nowadays while physical strength is believed to be the decisive factor that led to the victory in sport, many other people support the idea that mental toughness plays a more important role. From my perspective, both the psychological and physical side of an athlete should not be underestimated

On the one hand, physical fitness is a prerequisite for joining a sport. First and foremost, most of the traditional sport is the competition of corporal strength. This is irrefutable that numerous sports require stamina, agility or flexibility. Weightlifter, which brute strength is the key role to the overall success, can be a good case in point. In the second place, since the sportspeople have high-intensity trainnings frequently, an extraordinary bodily strength is essential. Illustration of this is the professional athletes who always exercises approximately ten or even twelve hours daily. Furthermore, physical toughness helps them avoid unintended injuries during practicing or competition which can ruin their careers.

Nevertheless, it is the mental factor that defines how well the sportsman's performance will be. The professional sports competitors devote themselves to willpower and psychological preparation carefully to gain a sense of confidence and calm regardless of the great pressure to overcome themselves and take advance the definitive opportunity. This is shown by there are several champions losing themselves and being defeated by the inferior opponents. Another reason is that mental strength keeping them away from social catastrophe. Practicing in high pressure is not a comfortable activity, and the athlete without an iron will tend to be relinquished and fell into drunk or using drugs. Mental toughness is responsible for building up their resistant to boredom and exhaustion and keep moving forward while their body suffers from fatigue

To summarize, while extraordinary physical strength is taken for granted during practices and competitions in traditional sport, the mental toughness is the decisive factor to keep the athletes in shape and prevent them from involving in social evils