Some people think music plays an important role in society. Others think it is it is simply a form of entertainment. Discuss both sides and opinions.

In every stage of society, the importance level of music in human life is always a controversial topic. Whilst I totally side with a school of thought that this kind of art contributes greatly to society, others have an assertion that songs are merely a tool of entertainment.

On the one hand, it cannot be denied that composition brings to society abundant benefits which if people lose, life will become more boring, even difficult, and other values also be diminished. First and foremost, it is music that could stimulate the spirit of humans to overcome desperate circumstances and look forward to a brighter future. In fact, during fierce periods of wars in the past, heroic songs about patriotism have spurred the love and pride of the nation in the hearts of every Vietnamese person and thanks to that, our ancestors heroically fought to regain independence and freedom. Moreover, apart from metal values, music also has considerable impacts on economic activities. For instance, lively and trendy songs are utilized by sellers in stores, and commercial malls because it is evident that such sounds can touch the atmosphere and make the shopper's spirit happier, and more excited, and thus they stay in the store longer for shopping. In addition, it is familiar to see that marketers usually try to combine catchy music in their advertisement videos so that they can get more attention from the audiences.

On the other hand, some people argue that music just provides an amusement tool for people without any other significant values. Firstly, nowadays there are more and more music composers and the music industry has become more competitive which results in the fact that many songs are born with no profound and cannot catch the hearts of all audiences. Many songs appear in a short time to catch or create a temporary trend among the young generation and then sink into obscurity. Secondly, not music but other fields such as science, technology, and education hold greater importance in shaping society and driving progress. To illustrate, it is advancement in medicine, not music, that prevents people far away from deadly diseases such as heart attacks, and cancers.

In conclusion, both sides of the argument have their own merits. However, I consider the influence of music on fostering social change and economic development to be remarkable even though it might just be a stress reliever for some people.