Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of old houses in local areas. Others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own style. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed that newly built houses should be designed as exiting homes in the same area. Some people argue that citizens should be given permission to design their own houses in their preferable style. In my opinion, people should have the right to build their houses following their own design, as long as these designs satisfy all necessary safety requirements.

On the one hand, there are certain reasons in favor of building their houses in their own style. The first one could be that when houses look familiar, it will enhance a sense of community and equality as design of house will reflect the wealth and social status of its owner. If a house look smaller, older than others in the same area, its owner is less likely to socialize with their neighborhood due to a lack of confidence. By contrast, owners easily become the target of gossip or burglary if their house look unique, luxury. Moreover, it seems to be easy for government to supervise the process of construction and guarantee our lives.

On the other hand, it is better when people have permission to build houses of their own style. Anyway, whether citizens build their houses in their own style or follow existing style to build, they should satisfy all three principles: durability, utility and beauty. Therefore, it should not only be strong in design, but it also inspire neighborhood by its aesthetic design. As a result, the area with such designs are more likely to become upper class’s zone with the high quality of living. Furthermore, if each house in an area is built in a unique style, it will greatly contribute to the diverse of image in that area.

In conclusion, it seems to me that building houses in their own style should be chosen in citizens’ preferences and governments encourage people to follow that trend rather than to force them to build in the previous styles.