Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of the old houses in the local areas, while others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own styles. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Each area has a different style of house architecture. While one school of thought says that the young generation should remain the traditional house style that has been handed down through generations of ancestors, I would strongly believe that people should be free to have their houses designed on their own.

The reasons why some people would like to keep the previous house style could be various. One of those is that the house construction and design could be an obvious indicator of the long-standing local culture and customs that are probably up to thousands of years long. For example, the Old Quarter in Hanoi, Vietnam with a series of French-style houses that were built during the French colonization period over 100 years ago is now well known as a place of interest for foreign tourists. If these houses had been replaced with modern style ones, this part of the tradition with a great deal of historical and cultural value would have probably faced a forever disappearance.

However, I would support the idea that people should have their own choice of house construction for the following reasons. First, we are living in a modern world where people’s lifestyles have changed, thus old house styles might be no longer adaptable. These old houses could have some behind-the-times features that probably cause living inconveniences and discomforts. Second, the recent architectural tendency with applications of scientific and technological breakthroughs has contributed a lot of solutions to deal with environmental issues. For example, people could arrange more spaces in their house to increase natural light instead of using too many interior lamps, or add more green spaces into the house to improve the air quality.

In conclusion, although there is a possibility that building houses in new styles could have a risk of losing traditional values, I believe that free-style house ideals are important to ensure good living conditions for the owners while being environmentally friendly.