Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of the old houses in the local areas, while others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own styles. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While new-built houses is thought to keep the style of the antiquated houses, some other people have the contrary opinion that everyone can build their houses of any style they desire. I will discuss both of these views in my essay below.

On the one hand, it is encouraged that the new constructions should be built upon ancient designs. Actually, following old style designs is the preservation and respect of traditional values which are created by the previous generations.

One clear example is Hanoi Old Quarter, which is known as the famous icon of Vietnam’s capital. Local people and government have issued policies to reconstruct old houses while keeping traditional architectures. It contributes to boost tourism economy and help Hanoi become a well-known tourists attractions, especially foreigners. Moreover, it also has educational values for children. By respecting historic values, the youngsters can learn attitude and good characters.

In contrast, I also agree with the opinion supporting local people choosing the styles for their houses at their discretion. Many people have no interest in traditional style and they prefer to choose a new modern style for their home. It is the creation of new styles and also the diversity of the city’s architecture. Furthermore, the cost for building a modern simple house is much lower than one which has the complex and antique design. Hence, local people have the right to make decisions on the styles that suit their financial ability and preferences.

To sum up, although some people think that the design and construction of modern house should follow traditional buildings, I personally believe that owners of them can decide the way their house should be built.