Task 2: Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries. Do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by some that students should concentrate on learning national literary works rather than international ones. To a certain extent, I agree that national literature is a core subject, which is necessary for children. However, I also believe that educators should balance the teaching of domestic and foreign literature.

By finding out homeland literature, youngsters can develop not only professional skill but also life skills which will help them deal with problems when they mature. Actually, the national literature is the creative achievement of domestic authors in many years, recording the history of the country’s development. Therefore, they are the valuable history lessons to teach students to be patriotic and respect traditional values. One clear example is the Tet holiday culture in Vietnam with the well-known story “The legend of Chung cake”. After learning those lessons, children will understand why Chung cake is the symbol of Vietnamese culture and what people often do on New Year’s day. On the other hand, domestic literature is the lesson for students to improve effective language usage applied in their work and life.

In contrast, I also believe that domestic and foreign works should be given equal attention. As national literature, foreign literature is the synthesis of their country’s cultural values. For that reason, finding out about the literature of other countries is the international cultural exchange that students can learn about the new culture of countries in global. It is necessary for them not to have the culture shock when they plan to study abroad.

To sum up, although national literature is the core subject in curriculum, I personally believe that international works also need to be equally concentrated.