Some people think that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries.

Do you agree or disagree?

Whether students should learn national or international writings has cause a heated debate in recent years. Some grab the view that international literary works is not really necessary. This essay will elaborate and provide some plausible reasons why i firmly disapprove.

On the one hand, ethnic literary works play a pivotal role in educating national culture for children. This is because through these writings, readers can come across a plenty of traditional images or features that can expand student’s knowledge about their own country. Furthermore, the young generation can also study about the history of their country, which are reflect via written works in the past. To illustrate, youngsters in my country incline to have a great patriotism thank to revolutionary poem which they have studied in the curriculum.

On the other hand, with international written works, student can broaden their horizons about tradition and lifestyle. While Kimono is traditional costume of Japan, in Korea, Hanbok is consider as national garment. While maple leaf is Canada’s symbol, bamboo is regard as Vietnam’s national symbol. All of aforementioned knowledge can be absorb if children have access to some multinational writings such as poetries, short stories or even fairy tales. Besides, in globalization era, studying from other countries is very crucial, people can harmonize the local literary features with new things which can acquire from multiple regions in order to enrich their own literature culture. Nguyen Tuan, who is an eminent writer is an typical example. Due to his interest in the contemporary French literature, Nguyen Tuan writing style is affected a lot, it is both classic and modern, both Vietnamese and French.

In conclusion, what student can learn from locally written works is indisputable, foreign literature, however, play an indispensable part. Only by organizing and combining these writings can authorities form a comprehensive education system.