Some people think that news has no connection with people’s lives; so it is a waste of time to read newspapers and watch television news programmes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is claimed that spending time on reading or watching news is absolutely wasteful. Truth be told, I find it hard to agree because having access to daily news is a must to be well informed about what is going on in the world and to be equipped with specialized knowledge for conducting further scientific research.

For the general public, it is advisable to be aware of the current state of affairs. This is certainly directly related to individual life. A typical example for this close relationship is what people should do in case of war. More specifically, after reading news about the outbreak of a war near them, people may immediately prepare food for fear of the possibility of food shortages.

Those who work as scientists are always in need of updated information from news reports about various fields. These range from education to economics and healthcare. For instance, news about the current coronavirus has pushed researchers all over the world to compete 24/7 in inventing a vaccine against it. As a result, it can be argued that news is closely related to the outside world whether common people or experts in the scientific world are taken into consideration.

Summarizing, when it comes to the belief that reading news in newspapers or watching news on television programs is a total waste of time, I am not convinced at all. This is merely because all people need news no matter what job they are engaged in. Depending on their occupation, people might obtain different useful pieces of information when they are exposed to one and the same news item.