Some people think that not all criminals should be kept in prison. Some criminals should do unpaid work to help other people in the community. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

It is argued that not all offenders should be locked up, instead they should render free service to the community. I agree with this school of thought because criminals do not commit the same degree of crimes and helping the society will benefit them.

The judgement whether to keep a criminal in prison should be based on the degree of seriousness of the crime committed. This is to say that offenders who violated the law by committing major crimes should be kept behind bars as punishment, while those who did non-serious violations should serve the community. This method could reduce crime rates because violent criminals can not influence and persuade minor offenders to reoffend. For example, in the Philippines, misdemeanor, such as theft and vandalism, which are usually carried out by those who are below18 years of age are punished to do social services in their community.

Community service is a good way to penalize perpetrators who did minor violations because this will help them realize their self-worth. Cleaning the streets, planting trees or working in charities are common services that allow them to work in a team. They will be given a certain task or responsibility to fulfill which is needed to achieve the goal of the group. Through this way, they will be able to see the importance of their contribution as a member of society and helps to motivate them to refrain from reoffending. As a result, there will be a reduction of crime rate and these individuals will become good and responsible citizens. For instance, in my home town most of the volunteers during out-of-reach programs had history of breaking the law and were asked to do unpaid community works.

In conclusion, crimes are not all punishable by prison and another method to penalize criminals is social service. In my opinion, sentencing perpetrators should be based on the extent of the harm done and providing free service to the community will have a positive impact on their lives.