Some people believe that no homework should be given to children. Others, however, say that extra work is needed after school in order for them to succeed. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have differing views about homework whether it should not be given to school children or they should have in order to become successful. While extra work from school fosters sense of responsibility, I believe that there are other things that they ought to do apart from school related activity.

On the one hand, some people think that homework is necessary because it teaches boys and girls to become responsible which will help them become successful. This is to say that by giving them a certain task to be done after school hours will train them to fulfill their responsibility as a learner. As a result, they will be given good grades which is a reflection of their academic performance. For example, a study conducted by the Department of Education in the Philippines revealed that those who belong to the honor roll in the primary school always comply to submit their projects or homework before the deadline. However, in my opinion, being responsible can be learned through other ways aside from take-home academic works.

On the other hand, homework should not be given because children have other things to do, such as playing with their peers. Play is also important as schooling in child's development because it allows them to interact with their friends which develops their socialization skills. It is also healthy for their young brains and a good way for them to wind down from the academic pressures that they have. For instance, in Finland, schools do not require their learners to do any homework, instead they are encouraged to spend time to play with their peers because the school considered play to have a vital role in child's development. I agree with this idea because play is a part of childhood that they need to enjoy and should not be deprived.

In conclusion, while some say that homework should be part of schools curriculum because it hones children to become responsible that will lead to success, I believe that boys and girls have other essential things to enjoy and engaged with aside from academic works.