Some people think that nuclear energy is better than other sources of power for meeting ever-increasing global needs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, it is argued that nuclear power is better than other sources of power, such as natural resources, for meeting growing global demands. In my opinion, I partly disagree with this view.

Nuclear power is the current dominant source of energy for several reasons. First, it can provide a constant energy supply without any interruption, while renewable power generation, such as sun and wind, would be affected by weather patterns. According to BBC News, nuclear energy accounts for 10-15% of the world’s electricity production, which plays an indispensable role in the electricity supply for human’s daily life. Second, the nuclear source known as “green” energy is environmentally friendly. To be more precise, it does not release exhaust fumes and emissions contributing to the greenhouse effect and posing a severe threat to the entire world, into the environment and the atmosphere.

On the other hand, I would argue that nuclear energy would not be the best choice for electricity supply. First, if waste disposal systems are improper, radioactive waste will spread out power plants, which is an escalation in high levels of radiation and put the human and ecosystems, such as aquatic animals, in great danger. In fact, there are several nuclear accidents, such as in Chernobyl in 1986 in Ukraine, emitting a large amount of radiation into the environment and leading to millions of people and animals’ death and fatal genetic diseases, such as agent orange. Second, the nuclear resource is a non-renewable energy source and is predicted to run out in the next 100 years. Therefore, it is essential for the government to apply for technological advances in stable renewable power generation in order to administer cost-effective electricity supplies for the people and meet the growing global demands.

In conclusion, although nuclear energy has recorded a dominant position in the world’s electricity supply, I do believe that it would be unsafe and should be substituted with renewable resources.