Some People think that old buildings should be knocked down and give way to modern buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people support the construction of new buildings of modern architecture, instead of the old-fashioned ones. I totally agree with this statement because modern buildings could be more environmentally friendly, and smart resource-savers as well.

Firstly, as long as cities, nowadays, are supposed to handle with environmental problems, the manufacture of establishments which can have a huge positive impact on the environment is really needed. Even though old buildings are designed in a very specific and remarkable way, delivering the special architectural aspect of each city, they are not capable of protecting the nature somehow. By contrast, recent architects and engineers are aware of the techniques to construct green buildings, which are designed and operate by eliminating the negative impacts on the environment. For example, sustainable buildings in the USA were constructed in order to use less water, energy or natural resources, resulting in reducing waste and pollution. This is a very important reason to support the construction of such modern buildings.

Secondly, modern buildings could be constructed smartly by using automated processes to automatically control the building’s operations. Operations including heating, ventilation, air conditioning, lighting, security and other systems are then regulated by the building its own. These infrastructures help owners, operators and facility managers improve asset reliability and performance, which reduces energy use, and optimizes how space is used. One example of energy efficiency is the use of optimal start/stop, which allows the building automation system to learn when it should bring the air conditioning system online for a particular zone in the building.

In conclusion, in my opinion the benefits of the construction of modern buildings outweigh the costs of destructing the old buildings, mainly because of their contribution to the environment and the absence of waste resources.