Some people think that the only way to have success in business is to have a unique product. What factors do you think influence the success of a company?

Throughout the course of time, the world of business has been facing the classic dilemma over whether coming up with an original product concept is the sole key to success. This essay, however, believes there are other factors at play. Not only does reputation play a more important role in growing an enterprise, but developing a unique product seems far-fetched nowadays.

As for the role of reputation, there are advantages which business establishments can make use of. If a customer purchases an Apple product, for example, and find that its performance is exactly identical to how the product was marketed, he will place his trust in Apple. On the other hand, a customer who owns a Samsung Galaxy Note 7 and was barred from boarding his flight might lose his trust in the brand even though Samsung is quite a creative company. In order for Samsung to bounce back in the market, efforts should not be put in generating more innovative ideas, but rather compensations to the customer to regain their trust.

In terms of product uniqueness, this is indeed a beneficial element in commercial corporations, but not the decisive one. Competitors will be attracted to successful products and will do whatever it takes to gain ownership of such products. Firstly, bigger corporations with larger capital will try to make an acquisition through takeover attempts or merger proposals. In the case where these options failed, the corporations may even boldly imitate the selling product. This seems to be the case nowadays. Every time a phone is added new features like face recognition and fingerprint sensors, for instance, competing brands will soon add those features to their own products, and sometimes even make it better.

In conclusion, the success of a business depends on lots of components. From personal observations, a company without reliability will fail no matter how innovative its products are.