Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

A question which many of us have to ask ourselves is whether various forms of advertisement are luring buyers into buying more than they can afford or they are increasing awareness of useful commercial products. On one hand, I am inclined to believe that shoppers undoubtedly must take into account the financial risks which are inherent in advertising. On the other hand, hardly can we deny the effectiveness of advertising as a business tool.

To assess the potential danger of commercials, we must bring the monetary aspect into focus. Assuming an individual was enticed into buying non-essential kitchen appliances solely because of the attractive visual appearance, he might later find his kitchen counters occupied by this equipment. Not only would such an individual never touch those items, but he would also find his money, as well as time, being wasted. In addition, the amount of time that they have spent on scrolling or looking at the screen on their personal devices could have been used for doing other domestic chores such as preparing a meal for the family or spending time hanging out with their kids. Another risk they might fail to avoid is being tricked into buying products of low quality.

Although one can readily draw the conclusion that adverts have proven somewhat risky, we must put the benefits of them into perspective before judging whether they are truly bad. Being used as an instrument by businesses to market products that they are proud of, advertisements inform prospective customers about how those products are capable of improving everyone’s life. For instance, a nine-to-five worker may find it time-consuming to do research before making a purchase since there is a heavy workload waiting for them to finish, whereas they can just take a look at some television commercials and figure out which brand is well-known and trustworthy. On top of that, a well-designed advertisement is also a creative work of art that conveys both the aim of the company and artistic inspiration.

Taking both sides into consideration, they point me to the conclusion that in principle, advertising can be a great source of information for the consumers, but in practice, those customers must be cautious to not get carried away by their spending habits. As is for everything else in life, moderation is the key to lasting enjoyment.