Some people think that in order to deal with the problem of congestion in cities, privately owned vehicles should be banned in city centres, while others consider this to be an unrealistic solution. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is true that traffic congestion continues to be controversial in urban area. While some people believe personal vehicles are to be blamed and should be banned from streets, I would argue that this approach is unreliable and impractical to carry out.

On the one hand, the reason why privately owned vehicles is the major factor that lead to traffic congestion is the colossal number of them emerging in the road. In fact, most of people in the world, especially in well-developed nations, prefer using personal vehicles rather than public transports because of their convenience and comfort. Hence, with the large quantity of them, there is not much space for the movement of vehicles in streets, so the act of prohibiting personal vehicles could significantly reduce traffic density. Furthermore, personal vehicles such as cars or motorbikes not only cause congestions in urban areas but also lead to an increase in pollution level. This is simply because the remarkable amount of carbon dioxide that have been disposed by cars and motorbike or their honks during the time they move on the street would result in air and noise contamination.

On the other hand, there are some reasonable reasons why this solution is unrealistic. First, many people are not willingness to use public transports because of their lack of security. As the number of dwellers use public transports for moving increase, the rate of crime would rise as well. For instance, people are prone to be stolen money or valuable items when they are in bus. Second, if the banning policy is adopted, the local authorities would have to manage public transportation well and prepare the infrastructure. For example, in Viet Nam, some areas do not have a bus stop so local residents having demands to use this kind of transportation must go for a long way to reach it. Moreover, not every destination are accessible by public transport, hence, people may not reach the place they want to.

To sum up, though the idea of banning personal vehicles in order to tackle traffic congestion seem to be logical because of its benefit such as reduce air and noise contamination, there are some negative aspects of this solution since it could encourage criminal behaviour.