Some People think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe tat school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Good etiquettes among the masses of any nation reflects its cultural values and hence helps in strengthening its social structure. Few people claim that its parents duty to inculcate good habits and values in their children in order to make them responsible citizen, while others advocate that school plays an indispensable role in achieving the same goal. Although, home is believed to be the first learning place for any individual, support from school is equally valuable and can not be overlooked. This essay will emphasize various reasons why both the aspects are crucial for the better upliftment of society and ignoring any is not going to be fruitful at all.

It is an undeniable fact that parents are the primary role model for their children. Their upbringing goes long way in building better and strong personality as a human. Family helps in binding children with their traditional and cultural values, teaches them manners and efficacy of following responsible behaviour. For instance, giving equal rights to both the sexes in a family is carried forward by generations, which later results in forming a safe and strong society for everyone. Hence, it is quite right to say that parents are the first teachers for developing bright personality and successful future for their children.

On the other hand, school, where students spend almost 8 hours daily away from their parents, has a major contribution in developing responsible and educated citizens. School is an amalgamation of both educational and human values. Students learn how to talk and behave appropriately being a part of group. They acquire value of effective and respectable speech with their peers, teachers and later with their society members. For example, without effective education one keeps on floundering to follow social norms. So, learning institutions in association with family has a major role in teaching social values.

To conclude, good social behaviour in children is extremely important for the betterment of any society. Although, many people argue on role of parents and schools in achieving the target, but as per my opinion, this should be treated as a joint venture and a collaborative approach from both sections of society is crucial for producing good human beings.