Some people think that paying taxes is their only responsibility towards society, while others feel that everyone should do more

Although certain individuals believe that their social role is limited to fulfillment of tax obligations, however, there is also another opinion suggesting that each citizen must be engaged to the community where he lives in order to contribute to the social development. From my perspective, living in society calls for a variety of actions by each person.

First, we should not forget about the environment that we live in. A tremendous growth in production and technologies bring new issues that need to be resolved. Despite the fact that advanced technologies provide for better life style, numerous side effects are inevitable. For example, pollution is affecting people’s health, causing allergic reactions. Statistical reports justify the importance of immediate and thorough consideration of our social responsibilities with regard to environmental safety. This includes not only the large-scale remedial actions implemented by the government and corporations, but also requires responsible individual approach in one’s day-to-day activities. An individual may ensure proper waste disposal, mindful care of water and other natural resources.

Another crucial aspect of social responsibility is the need to provide special care and support to the certain categories of citizens, like elderlies, disables or otherwise not capable of taking care of themselves. To a large extent their well-being depends on the governmental programs. Respective authorities must focus on this issue and develop an appropriate infrastructure for these people. And each person may also contribute by speaking up, acting ethically, raising questions, providing an individual support to these categories of people so that to improve the quality of their life.

In view of the above although it is undeniable that paying taxes is one of the crucial responsibilities of an individual, but I strongly believe that the social role of citizens includes various obligations to the community, such as demonstrating an ethical behavior, ensuring an environmental and health safety, protecting certain categories of people and much more.